Maria de Lourdes Pintasilgo Award Ceremony (5th edition-2020)

Técnico - Alameda campus

The 2020 award winners are the Técnico alumnae Helena Pereira (Role Model category) and Maria Teresa Parreira (Young Alumna category).

Instituto Superior Técnico created this award in 2016 to promote Maria de Lourdes Pintasilgo’s outstanding contribution as engineer, alumna and national leader with a decisive role and impact on Portuguese society. The award aims to promote gender equality and to recognise the crucial role of women in engineering areas.

The Técnico alumna Helena Pereira, (Chemical-Industrial Engineering) won the award in the Role Model category. Professor Helena Pereira has a long and solid career in Higher Education, Science, Academic and Scientific Management. She was nominated President of Fundação para a Ciência e Tecnologia in 2019.

Maria Teresa Parreira won the award in the Young Alumna category, for her outstanding academic achievements and involvement in academic activities.

The ceremony will take place on 6th December, at IST Alameda campus – Salão Nobre, at 14:30. Enable live streaming (link).


  • 14:30
    Opening session
    Speech by the President of Instituto Superior Técnico, Professor Rogério Colaço
  • 14:40
    Speeches by the “Gender Balance@Técnico” working group, Professors Alexandre Bernardino and Beatriz Silva
  • 14:50
    Speech by the Executive Administrator at Filstone, Eng. Miguel Goulão
  • 15:00
    • Award presentation to Maria Teresa Parreira
    • Speech by Engineer Maria Teresa Parreira
  • 15:15
    • Award presentation to Helena Pereira
    • Speech by Professor Helena Pereira
  • 15:30
    Speech by the President of Champalimaud Foundation, Dr Leonor Beleza
  • 15:40
    Speech by the Minister for Science, Technology and Higher Education, professor Manuel Heitor
  • 15:50
    Closing session