Campus and Community

Isabel Vaz and Bárbara Simões win the second edition of Maria de Lourdes Pintasilgo award

Isabel Vaz and Bárbara Simões received Maria de Lurdes Pintasilgo award.

The jury, headed by professor Arlindo Oliveira, unanimously decided to honour engineer Isabel Aníbal Vaz, president of the executive board at Grupo Luz Saúde, with Maria de Lurdes Pintasilgo award in the category “role model” for her “professional and social career”. Bárbara Fernandes Simões won the award in the category “young alumni” for “her outstanding academic performance that culminated in her master’s thesis in Mathematics and Applications with a remarkable final grade: 19.” The jury is composed of professors Luís Oliveira e Silva, Raquel Aires de Barros, Helena Geirinhas Ramos, Ana Paiva, Ana Póvoa, Isabel Sá Correia, João Ramôa Ribeiro, Maria da Graça Carvalho, José Nuno Canongia Lopes and Dr. Dora Rego.

Técnico established Maria de Lourdes Pintasilgo award as a way to promote her outstanding contribution as Engineer, alumna and national leader with a decisive role and impact on Portuguese society.