IBM Scientific Award Ceremony

Técnico - Alameda campus

The IBM Scientific Award ceremony will take place on 16th January 2019, at 5 p.m., in Salão Nobre – Instituto Superior Técnico. The ceremony will be chaired by His Excellency the President of the Portuguese Republic.

The IBM Scientific Award once again distinguished a research work carried out at Técnico. The award winner of IBM Scientific Award 2018 was Marija Vranic, PhD researcher at the Institute for Plasmas and Nuclear Fusion (Group of Lasers and Plasmas) – Instituto Superior Técnico.


• 5 p.m. – Check-in
• 5.30 p.m. – Opening Session
Arlindo Oliveira, President of IST
António Raposo de Lima, President of IBM Portugal
• 5.50 p.m. – Speech by Manuel Heitor, Portuguese Minister for Science, Technology and Higher Education
• 6 p.m. – Speech by Carlos Salema, President of the Jury
• 6.10 p.m. – Honourable Mention
Daniel Dinis, Doctorate in Telecommunications from the University of Aveiro
• 6.13 p.m. – Honourable Mention
Elisabete Silva, Doctorate in Biomedical Engineering from the University of Porto
• 6.23 p.m. – Presentation of the Honourable Mention
• 6.25 p.m. – Winner of the IBM Scientific Award
Marija Vranic, PhD researcher at the Institute for Plasmas and Nuclear Fusion – IST
• 6.40 p.m. – Presentation of the IBM Scientific Award
• 6.45 p.m. – Closing Session by Marcelo Rebelo de Sousa, President of the Portuguese Republic
• 7 p.m. – Cocktail

More information.