Lecture by Lalita Udpa & Satish S. Udpa – American Corners

Main Building (meeting room), Alameda Campus

25th September, at 3 p.m., in the Main Building (meeting room), Alameda Campus

Date: 25th September
Hour: 3 p.m.
Venue: Main Building (meeting room), Alameda Campus
Moderator: Prof. Helena Geirinhas Ramos

The American Corner@Técnico is pleased to announce the lecture Active Control of Laser Melt Pool Dynamics in Metal Additive Manufacturing Using Rotating Magnetic Fields”, by Lalita Udpa e Satish S. Udpa, under the partnership between Instituto Superior Técnico and the US Embassy – “American Corners Portugal”.


Metal additive manufacturing are becoming increasingly prevalent largely due to its ability to create lighter parts at lower costs. Typically, metal additive manufacturing involves fusing layers of powder using an energy source, such as a laser to first melt the metal powder to form a melt pool. The dynamics of melt pools created, influence the microstructure and resultant properties of the AM parts. In current metal AM methods, the dynamics are dictated by the thermo-elastic properties and the fluid dynamics of the melt pool, which in turn, are affected by a narrow window of values of process parameters such as laser power, powder deposition speed etc. This lecture investigates the feasibility of widening the process window by actively controlling the dynamics of melt pool via use of rotating magnetic fields to churn the melt pool. Simulation results to validate the hypotheses will be presented.

Short Bio

Satish S. Udpa

Satish S. Udpa serves as a University Distinguished Professor at Michigan State University (MSU) and Campus Mobility Director. Prior to reverting to his current position in October 2019, he served in many administrative capacities at MSU including Acting President, Executive Vice President for Administration, Dean of the College of Engineering, and Chair of the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering. He also served as the President of the Michigan State University Foundation.
Udpa’s research interests span the broad area of sensing and measurement. He has focused his energies on developing a variety of sensors for nondestructive evaluation (NDE) applications together with tools for developing them and analyzing data generated by such sensors. He has published extensively, holds several patents, and was the technical editor of the Electromagnetic Nondestructive Testing Handbook, published by the American Society for Nondestructive Testing. He served as the editor of the IEEE Transactions on Magnetics and the regional editor of the International Journal of Applied Electromagnetics and Mechanics until recently.
He is a Fellow of the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE), American Society for Nondestructive Testing (ASNT), and the Indian Society of Nondestructive Testing. He is a Fellow of the National Academy of Inventors. He serves as a member of Michigan Governor’s Council on Future Mobility and Electrification and is a member of the American Society for Nondestructive Testing Board of Directors.

Lalita Udpa

Prof. Lalita Udpa is a University Distinguished Professor at Michigan State University. Prof. Udpa is an internationally recognized leader in the multidisciplinary area of electromagnetic nondestructive evaluation (NDE). Her research interests include various aspects of NDE such as development of computational models for NDE processes, new sensor designs, signal and image processing, data fusion, and inverse problem solutions.
With over 370 journal articles, her contributions in NDE have resulted in over 50 Masters and 35 Ph.D. students, who have all been extremely successful in their professions in industry, national laboratories and Academia. Prof. Udpa is a Fellow of IEEE, ASNT, and ISNT. She has won numerous Awards including Withrow Distinguished Research Award, Beal Outstanding Faculty Award, Ralph Smuckler Award for Global Programs, and numerous ASNT Fellowship Awards. She also served on the editorial board of ASNT’s Research Journal of NDE and is an editor of IEEE Transactions on Magnetics.